什麼是ETFs (Exchange Traded Funds, 交易所買賣基金)?

ETF是一項為您低成本自動追踪市場指數的基金。

但首先,指數是什麼?嗯,指數只是一籃子的公司股票被放在一起。很多時候,被選擇的一籃子股票是一個在同一個股票市場內,這就是為什麼指數通常被描述為「跟踪市場」的原因。

但是,指數只是理論上的一籃子,故若要把它帶到現實世界中,您必須建立一隻基金,並透過基金購買指數中的所有公司。 ETF就是這些類型的基金之一。 因此,由於ETF跟踪指數,而指數則跟踪市場,因此買入ETF是「買入市場」的一種方式。

ETF已有30多年的歷史。於1990年,第一隻ETF在多倫多證券交易所推出。至今,全球有近8,000隻ETF上市。 ETF與其他類型的追踪指數基金(例如被動共同基金Mutual Funds)的分別在於,ETF是在在證券交易所公開交易。 因此,任何人都可以直接透過券商進行ETF買賣。

什麼使ETF如此受歡迎?

ETF在很多方面都較吸引,而其中最大的優勢在於其超低的費用上。

但是,驅動ETF增長的最重要優勢反而在其名稱上可看到 : ETF是「交易所買賣的」(Exchange-Traded)。 這意味著任何人都可以直接透過普通的證券交易商進行買賣,而無需通過中介機構申購。

正因如此,再加上現時金融科技和雲端計算的發展,今天的ETF讓企業有機會創造全新的營運模式 ,首次讓客人可以在市場上直接投資。這正正是我們創立Teyk的目的。

而除了ETF的費用比共同基金低得多之外,ETF更創造了一個全新的金融服務「供應鏈」,把傳統交易買賣當中的所有中間人完全剔除。因此,ETF造就的新營運模式下,客戶需支付的成本(end-to-end costs),將會是傳統方案的一小部分。

財富管理服務的營運模式

Traditional 總費用 2% - 3% P.A 顧客 理財顧問 顧問公司 共同基金 股票交易商 股票
Teyk 總費用 0.6% - 1.5% P.A 顧客 Teyk 0.5% p.a ETFs 0.1% - 1% p.a

小數怕長計

為什麼如此重要? 因複利效應是雙向的:儘管您每年僅支付少許的額外費用,長遠您的整體投資回報都會被顯著地拖累。

事實上,隨著時間流逝,長期支付這些較高的傳統費用可能會侵蝕掉您總財富的30%。

chart 每月投資2000元,為期20年 $250k 費用 損失 每年 支付 3%費用 的回報 $950k

加入其餘+2000人成為優先用戶的一份子。

最低投資門檻只需港幣500元,非私人銀行的800萬元。

聽起來覺得難以置信?我們之所以能夠提供較低的門欖,是因為我們的嶄新金融科技能夠消除現時金融體系中的不足,從過程中使每個人都能夠享用服務。

What are Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs)?

ETFs are low cost funds that automatically track an index for you.

So firstly, what’s an index? Well, an index is simply a basket of companies selected together. Often the basket of companies selected is a total market, and so that’s why indices are often described as ‘tracking the market’.

However, an index is just a theoretical basket, and so to bring it into the real world you have to create a fund to buy all the underlying companies in the chosen index. ETFs are one of these types of funds. And so because ETFs track an index, and an index tracks a market, buying ETFs is a way to ‘buy the market’.

ETFs have been around for over 30 years now. The first ETF was launched on the Toronto Stock Exchange back in 1990, and today there are nearly 8,000 ETFs listed around the world. The key aspect of ETFs vs. other types of funds that track an index (e.g. passive mutual funds) is that ETFs are publicly traded on a stock exchange. Therefore anyone can access ETFs directly through a stockbroker.

What makes ETFs so popular?

There are many aspects about ETFs that make them attractive directly, and most of these centre on their exceptionally low fees.

However, the most important feature driving their growth is actually highlighted in their name – ETFs are ‘exchange traded’. This means that anyone can buy and sell them directly through a normal stockbroker, and without having to go through an intermediary.

This fact, combined with the recent developments in digital technology and cloud computing, means that today ETFs open up the opportunity for companies to create entirely new business models giving customers direct access to investment funds for the very first time. And this is exactly what we’ve done at Teyk.

So it’s not just that ETFs have much lower fees than mutual funds, it’s that ETFs enable the creation of entirely new financial services ‘supply chains’ that can strip out intermediaries altogether. In doing this, ETFs help create new business models with end-to-end costs for customers which are a fraction of the traditional solutions.

Wealth Management Business Models

Traditional TOTAL FEES 2% - 3% P.A Customer Financial Advisor Advisors Firm Mutual Fund Stock Broker Shares
Teyk TOTAL FEES 0.6% - 1.5% P.A Customer Teyk 0.5% p.a ETFs 0.1% - 1% p.a

Small fees make a big difference

So why is this so important? Well, it turns out that compound interest works both ways – and paying even just a small amount extra in fees each year can significantly reduce your overall investment return.

In fact, paying these higher traditional fees could be eating away as much as 30% of your total wealth over time.

chart Saving HK$2K a month for 20 years $250k gone in fees Savings outcome with 3% p.a. fees $950k

Join the 2k+ people already signed up.

Minimums start at HK$500, not the HK$8m as required at the Private Banks.

Think this sounds too good to be true? We’re able to offer such low minimums because we use technology to cut out the inefficiencies in the financial system, and in doing so we make it accessible to everyone.